Woods

WOODS CANADA IS FOUNDED

1885
The Dominion of Canada was created in 1867. Only 18 years later, James W. Woods was outfitting lumbermen in the Ottawa Valley with his own special brand of canvas supplies. Over the following decades, Woods’ fame and fortune would continue to grow and prosper along with our new country.
  • JAMES WOODS CREATES REVOLUTIONARY CANVAS

    1895

    By this time, Woods had built a plant to manufacture his in-demand tents, sleeping bags and canvas goods of various kinds. Ever seeking to make life in the great outdoors even greater, Woods invented a new lightweight canvas that was virtually waterproof. It was a revolutionary innovation. Woods’ reputation spread quickly around the world.

  • STAMPEDERS RELY ON WOODS FOR SURVIVAL

    1896

    The Klondike Gold Rush was on. Pioneers and prospectors looking to strike it rich in Canada’s Yukon depended on Woods™ gear for their very survival in one of our country’s harshest climates. Known as “stampeders”, these hardy adventurers carried Woods™ tents, sleeping bags, mackinaw sweaters, camp stoves and other gear in their Woods™ packsacks.

  • 1ST EXPLORERS TO NAVIGATE NORTHWEST PASSAGE APPLAUD WOODS

    1906

    Norwegian explorer, Roald Amundsen, and his crew were first to successfully navigate the Northwest Passage. Woods™ parkas, tents, sleeping bags and other gear were stowed aboard their ship, the Gjøa. Later speaking of his time at the North Pole, Amundsen said, “There are two times a man is happy when he’s up there: when his belly is full of hot liquid and when he’s in his sleeping bag.”

  • WOODS SLEEPING BAG PRAISED AS, "THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED"

    1898

    Joseph B. Tyrell – a noted geologist, cartographer and mining consultant who first discovered the dinosaur bones in Alberta’s Badlands – wrote a letter as he put it, to “testify to the excellence” of the Woods™ eiderdown sleeping bag. He heartily and enthusiastically endorsed the product as “the most comfortable bed that I have ever had in the field”.

  • WOODS INTEGRAL TO CONQUERING SOUTH POLE MISSION

    1911

    Curious to learn more about polar survival, Amundsen returned to live among the Inuit in Canada’s Arctic for two winters. The hands-on experience and knowledge he gained would prove essential when he successfully led the first team to conquer the South Pole. Once again, Woods™ gear was an integral part of that team and adventure.

  • 5-YEAR ARTIC EXPEDITION BACKED BY WOODS

    1913

    The Canadian Arctic Expedition was a daring 5-year mission to study the Arctic and its indigenous peoples. The first such venture of its kind, it was painstakingly documented. Among its incredible historic references? Photographic evidence clearly showing Woods™ tents, sleeping bags and especially the Woods™ Arctic Parka which had been specially designed and developed for that particular mission.

  • WOODS LENDS OUTDOOR SHELTER EXPERTISE TO WWI

    1914

    The world – and Woods Canada went to war. During WWI, the company applied its considerable survival expertise to equip Allied soldiers with its tents, sleeping bags and other goods; in particular, the company created the first gas masks for our Canadian army. We may never know how many Canadian lives were saved as a result of this patriotic duty and valuable contribution towards the war effort.

  • ROOSEVELT TRUSTS IN WOODS GEAR FOR EXPEDITION

    1925

    The company has long enjoyed affiliations with the National Geographic Society and the Royal Geographic Society. It outfitted many of the most important explorations of the early 20th century: the Theodore Roosevelt Field Expedition through Central Asia, Admiral Byrd’s expedition in the Antarctic and the first ascent of Mount Logan – Canada’s highest peak – to name but a few.

  • HEMINGWAY PENS WOODS INTO FAMOUS LOVE SCENE

    1940

    Renowned American author, Ernest Hemingway, was also an avid outdoorsman and enthusiastic fan of Woods™ gear. In what’s often considered his greatest and best-known novel, For Whom the Bell Tolls, he penned a starring role for the Woods™ sleeping robe in the plot and setting for his most famous love scene.

  • FIRST RETURN VOYAGE THROUGH NORTHWEST PASSAGE ACHIEVED WITH WOODS

    1944

    Woods™ gear was proudly stowed aboard the St. Roch in 1944 when the Royal Canadian Mounted Police’s schooner was the first vessel ever to make a return voyage through the Northwest Passage in a single season. When she became the first ship to circumnavigate North America in 1955, Woods™ was there again to serve.

  • WOODS IS THE NATION’S LARGEST FLAG MANUFACTURER

    1967

    By the latter half of the 20th century, Woods™ brand was expanded from its already-comprehensive line of outdoor equipment and durable canvas gear to include hockey bags. The company was also the nation’s largest flag manufacturer. On July 1, 1967 – Canada’s Centennial – Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson unfurled the new flag Woods™ Canada had supplied atop the Peace Tower of our Parliament buildings in Ottawa. Its red maple leaf continues to symbolize our country and values around the world.

  • 1ST CANADIANS TO SUMMIT EVEREST DEPEND ON WOODS GEAR

    1982

    The company, along with Laurie Skreslet, and his team – were the first Canadians to reach the summit of Nepal’s Mount Everest in the Himalayas. At an altitude of 8,848 m (29,029 ft) above sea level, it’s the world’s highest peak. The company was highly honoured to have helped that team make history by supplying the tents, sleeping bags and parkas they needed to survive the climb.

  • WOODS LAUNCHES NEW LIMITED EDITION OUTDOOR COLLECTION

    TODAY

    Woods launches their Limited Edition 2018 Winter Collection, engineered with technical innovation to meet the demands of today’s modern outdoor explorers. From mountain tops to urban streets, Woods remains committed to helping Canadians explore more of their own backyard and beyond.

Woods

CRÉATION DE WOODS CANADA

1885
La Confédération canadienne a été fondée en 1867. Seulement 18 ans plus tard, James W. Woods équipait plusieurs bûcherons de la vallée de l’Outaouais avec sa propre gamme d’articles spéciaux en toile. Au cours des années suivantes, la renommée et la fortune de Woods continuèrent à s’accroître au rythme de la prospérité de notre nouveau pays.
  • JAMES WOODS INVENTE UNE TOILE RÉVOLUTIONNAIRE

    1895

    Déjà à ce moment-là, Woods avait mis en opération une usine où il fabriquait des tentes, des sacs de couchage et autres articles en toile très recherchés. Toujours inspiré par rendre accessible la vie en plein air, Woods inventa une nouvelle toile ultralégère et réellement hydrofuge. Ce fut une innovation révolutionnaire qui fit rapidement la réputation de Woods à travers le monde entier.

  • LES CHERCHEURS D’OR COMPTENT SUR WOODS POUR SURVIVRE

    1896

    C’était l’époque de la ruée vers l’or du Klondike. Les pionniers et chercheurs d’or qui voulaient s’enrichir au Yukon au Canada dépendaient de l’équipement WoodsMC pour survivre dans un des climats les plus sévères de notre pays. Ces aventuriers robustes, appelés « Stampeders », emportaient des sacs à dos WoodsMC ainsi que des tentes, des sacs de couchage, des maillots, des réchauds et autres équipements de WoodsMC.

  • LE PARKA DE L'EXPÉDITION POLAIRE DE WOODS UTILISÉ À BORD DU NAVIRE CGS ARCTIC

    1903

    L’exploration, la cartographie et la compréhension du Nord canadien sont devenues de plus en plus importantes pour le gouvernement canadien au début du 20e siècle. Pour soutenir ces vastes explorations dans le Nord, James W. Woods fournit en 1903 au capitaine Bernier, navigateur et explorateur québécois, un parka spécialement conçu pour les expéditions polaires, destiné à être utilisé à bord du navire CGS Arctic.

  • LE SAC DE COUCHAGE WOODS EST SALUÉ COMME ÉTANT « LE LIT QUI OFFRE LE PLUS DE CONFORT »

    1898

    Joseph B. Tyrell – un géologue, cartographe et consultant minier renommé, le premier à découvrir des os de dinosaure dans les Bad-lands de l’Alberta – écrivit une lettre, selon ses dires, parce qu’il voulait attester de l’excellence du sac de couchage en duvet de WoodsMC. Plein d’enthousiasme, il y déclarait « c’est le lit le plus confortable que j’ai jamais eu sur le terrain. »

  • LES PREMIERS EXPLORATEURS DU PASSAGE DU NORD-OUEST ACCLAMENT WOODS

    1906

    Roald Amundsen, explorateur norvégien, et son équipe ont été les premiers à réussir à naviguer sur le Passage du Nord-ouest. À bord de leur navire, Gjøa, se trouvaient des parkas, des tentes, des sacs de couchage et autre équipement de WoodsMC. Plus tard, en parlant du temps qu’il avait passé au Pôle nord, Amundsen dit : « Il n’y a que deux moments où un homme est content là-bas: quand il a du liquide chaud dans le ventre et quand il dort dans son sac de couchage. »

  • WOODS SE JOINT À L’AVENTURE DE LA CONQUÊTE DU PÔLE SUD

    1911

    Curieux d’approfondir ses connaissances de la survie polaire, Amundsen vécut parmi les Inuits dans la région arctique canadienne où il resta pendant deux hivers. L’expérience et les connaissances concrètes qu’il y acquit s’avérèrent essentielles à son succès ultérieur lorsqu’il dirigea la première équipe au Pôle sud. Encore une fois, l’équipement WoodsMC était au sein de cette équipe et de cette aventure.

  • WOODS SOUTIENT UNE EXPÉDITION DE CINQ ANS EN ARCTIQUE

    1913

    L’expédition dans l’Arctique canadien représentait une ambitieuse mission de 5 ans, étudiant l’Arctique et ses Autochtones. La première initiative du genre, elle a été documentée méticuleusement. Et parmi ses références historiques incroyables? Des preuves photographiques montrant bien en évidence les tentes, les sacs de couchage de WoodsMC et surtout la parka arctique spécialement conçue et développée par WoodsMC pour cette mission bien particulière.

  • WOODS FAIT PROFITER LES SOLDATS DE LA PREMIÈRE GUERRE MONDIALE DE SON EXPERTISE DES ABRIS EXTÉRIEURS

    1914

    Le monde et Woods Canada partent en guerre. Pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, l’entreprise sut utiliser son expertise considérable en survie afin d’équiper les soldats alliés avec ses tentes, sacs de couchage et autres biens; plus spécifiquement, Woods confectionna les premiers masques à gaz pour l’Armée canadienne. Impossible de savoir précisément combien de vies furent ainsi sauvées grâce au sens patriotique et à la contribution de Woods Canada pendant la guerre.

  • LE PRÉSIDENT ROOSEVELT SE FIE À L’ÉQUIPEMENT WOODS POUR UNE EXPÉDITION

    1925

    Depuis toujours, l’entreprise profite de ses affiliations avec la Société géographique nationale et la Société géographique royale. Elle a équipé plusieurs des explorations les plus importantes du début du 20e siècle : l’expédition Theodore Roosevelt à travers l’Asie centrale, l’expédition en Antarctique de l’amiral Byrd et la première ascension du mont Logan – le sommet le plus haut du Canada. Et bien d’autres encore.

  • HEMINGWAY DONNE UN BEAU RÔLE À WOODS DANS L’UNE DE SES CÉLÈBRES SCÈNES D’AMOUR

    1940

    Le célèbre auteur américain, Ernest Hemingway, était aussi un grand amateur de plein air et un mordu d’équipement WoodsMC. Son roman, Pour qui sonne le glas (For Whom the Bell Tolls), est considéré parmi l’un de ses meilleurs et le plus connu. Son roman y met en vedette le fameux sac de couchage de WoodsMC. Celui-ci apparaît dans l’intrigue et dans le cadre de sa scène d’amour la plus célèbre.

  • WOODS ASSURE LE SUCCÈS DU PREMIER ALLER-RETOUR PAR LE PASSAGE DU NORD-OUEST

    1944

    En 1944, la goélette St-Roch de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada a été le premier vaisseau à naviguer au travers du Passage du Nord-ouest aller/retour en une seule saison. Ayant à son bord l’équipement de WoodsMC fièrement rangé. En 1955, ce navire a été le premier à naviguer autour de l’Amérique du Nord. L’équipement WoodsMC était de nouveau à bord prêt à rendre service.

  • WOODS EST LE PLUS IMPORTANT FABRICANT DE DRAPEAUX AU PAYS

    1967

    Dans la deuxième moitié du 20e siècle, la gamme d’articles plein air de WoodsMC – déjà très complète – prit encore de l’expansion pour y inclure de l’équipement en toile, ainsi que les sacs de hockey. L’entreprise était aussi le plus important fabricant de drapeaux au pays. Le 1er juillet, 1967 – au Centenaire du Canada – le premier ministre, Lester B. Pearson, déroula le nouveau drapeau du Canada, fourni par WoodsMC, au sommet de la Tour de la Paix, aux bâtiments du Parlement à Ottawa. Sa feuille d’érable rouge représente toujours notre pays et nos valeurs à travers le monde.

  • LES PREMIERS CANADIENS À PARVENIR AU SOMMET DE L’EVEREST COMPTENT SUR L’ÉQUIPEMENT WOODS

    1982

    Laurie Skreslet, son équipe et WoodsMC sont les premiers Canadiens à arriver au sommet du mont Everest, au Népal dans l’Himalaya. C’est le sommet le plus haut du monde, à une élévation de 8.858 m (29.029 pi.) au-dessus du niveau de la mer. C’était un véritable honneur pour l’entreprise d’avoir aidé cette équipe lors de ce moment historique, en fournissant tentes, sacs de couchage et parkas dont ses membres eurent besoin pour survivre à l’ascension.

  • WOODS LANCE UNE NOUVELLE COLLECTION ÉDITION LIMITÉE DE VÊTEMENTS DE PLEIN AIR

    AUJOURD'HUI

    Woods lance sa Collection d’hiver 2018 en édition limitée. Intégrant les dernières innovations techniques, elle est conçue pour satisfaire aux exigences des explorateurs d’aujourd’hui. Des sommets vertigineux aux profondeurs de la jungle urbaine, Woods encourage les gens d’ici à explorer leur environnement ainsi qu’à élargir leurs horizons.